Casiciaco Recoletos Seminary Baguio City



Recollect Superiors talked to the bishop of the newly-created Apostolic Vicariate of Montañosa, Most Rev. William Brasseur CICM, DD about their plan to build a retreat and rest house named after Italian Villa, Casiciaco, in an 8-hectare land purchased from the Jesuits.


Newly elected prior provincial, Manuel Carceller approved the project. Constructions began.

March 19, 1954

Prior General Eugenio Ayape consecrated the chapel to Our Lady of Pillar.

June 4, 1965

The Propaganda Fide approved the canonical establishment of Casiciaco as a “house of philosophical studies.” It was named Seminario Mayor-Recoletos

June 1966

Granted with official government recognition, the seminary offered an AB degree major in Philosophy (Classical).


Canonical erection of the seminary as Novitiate House, with Fr. Crisostomo Garnica as first Novice Master.

January 23, 1990

Blessing of the Three-storey annex building. First major catastrophe struck: an Earthquake with 7.7 magnitude.

July 16, 1995

Renaming of the seminary: Casiciaco Recoletos Seminary.


The term “Graduation” was changed to “Transitio et Formatio.” The approved 5-year curriculum took effect. The Pre-Novitiate Program in Antipolo was the Fifth year.

May 21, 2001

A big fire gutted the seminary building’s east wing.

February 25, 2003

Blessing and inauguration of the newly-rebuilt chapel and a three-storey rehabilitated building.

October 10-12, 2003

Golden Jubilee of the seminary’s foundation. It was highlighted by a grand homecoming of alumni and seminarians.

June 27

For the first time, with the seminarian’s population reaching 122, the first year seminarians were housed outside Baguio due to space problems. Adult Vocation Program was implemented.

House Prior

[as retreat and rest house]

1952       Alonso Bernal

1955       Modesto Martinez

1956       Esteban Tejedor

1959       Leandro Nieto

1960      Serafin Lamiquiz

[as seminary]

1965       Blas Montenegro

1965       Antonio Martinez

1967       German Chicote

1970       Anesio Villanueva

1970       Melquiades Mondequillo

1973       Emeterio Buñao

1979       Jesus Paswtor Paloma

1982       Emeterio Buñao

1985       Melquiades Mondequillo

1991       Joseph Philip Trayvilla

1994       Lauro Larlar

1997       Joseph Philip Trayvilla

2003      Bernard Amparado

2006       Joseph Philip Trayvilla

2009       Joseph Philip Trayvilla

2012       Lauro Larlar

2015       Bernard Amparado

More posts about:

Frei Bo

Frei Bo

Priest-Religious of the Order of Augustinian Recollects, Province of St. Ezekiel Moreno. Webmaster.