New structure of the Order of Augustinian Recollects: 4 new Provinces

Screen Shot 2019-08-01 at 10.07.23 AM

Note: This was translated from the original Spanish article posted in the official website of the Order of Augustinian Recollects (

The four Priors Provincial explain what is the new reality of the Augustinian Recollects after the process of joining provinces carried out during 2018.

General Curia, ROME–The Augustinian Recollects face from the past year a new panorama. The union of provinces has renewed the configuration of the Order in the world: four new provinces with different challenges. With the restructuring of provinces and the reorganization of ministries, the Augustinian Recollects seek to strengthen evangelization, youth and vocation ministry, community life of religious and social works with the poor. In short, an update of the Augustinian Recollection is intended.

In May of 2018, the San Nicolás de Tolentino and San Agustín provinces were the first two provinces that carried out their union, within the restructuring process that the Order began in 2016. Subsequently, they were followed by the San José and Santa Rita Provinces, to that of Santo Tomás de Villanueva; and the Province of Our Lady of Consolation, to that of Our Lady of the Candelaria. The Province of San Ezequiel Moreno, the most recent one, does not join another province, but it does have the commitment to expand and to internationalize its presence throughout Asia.

Province of San Nicolas de Tolentino

It is formed by 316 religious present in eight countries: Spain, England, England and Rome, China, United States, Mexico, Costa Rica and Brazil. Spain has the largest number of religious. Most religious work in pastoral ministry in parishes and schools. They have presence and commitment in significant social projects, among them is the City of Children in Costa Rica and CARDI in Mexico.

Province of Santo Tomás de Villanueva

It is present in 5 countries: Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela and Peru, configured by 300 religious and 50 communities. It has formation houses, schools, Ministerial Apostolate, parishes and missions. Currently, the province lives the reality of Venezuela, which affects all the religious who work there and indirectly affects the entire province.

Province of Our Lady of Candelaria

After the union, the province is present in Spain, Guatemala, Dominican Republic, Panama, Colombia and Chile. It consists of approximately 200 religious who continue with the same ministries at the level of parishes and schools. They have two mission territories, one in Panama in Kankintú (Bocas del Toro) and another in Colombia in Trinidad (Casanare).

Province of San Ezequiel Moreno

It is the only province that has no other province attached to it. It is made up of 179 members, with their houses in the Philippines (Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao). They also have houses in Taiwan, Sierra Leone (Africa), Saipan (Northern Mariana Islands) and Indonesia. Under the Province of St. Ezekiel Moreno are two universities, 4 colleges, and 2 academies. All stages of formation, from the Minor Seminary up to the Theologate, are present in the province. The province also administers parishes and quasi-parishes in the Philippines, Sierra Leone, Saipan, and Taiwan.

More posts about:

Augustinian Recollects

Agustinos Recoletos

Official encoder of